cherryville.gif (3142 bytes)



The Cherryville Historical Society

 

Designed by
Mike Jones
Copyright 1996-2002 Cherryville.com
All Rights Reserved.

Site maintained by
Mike Jones


The Old City Hall located at 109 East Main Street is a Cherryville landmark. Erected in 1911 by the Kendrick brothers, it was made from lumber cut and sawed at their sawmill and from brick made in their brickyard near the Mt. Zion Church north of town. The City Hall housed hand-drawn fire equipment, the city administration offices, and the police department on the first floor. The courtroom and the county office were on the second floor, and the jail was in the basement.

It was in 1922 that the first motorized fire truck was purchased. Today, she's affectionately known as "Granny" and once the restoration of the city hall is finished, she'll return to her former home. Incidentally, Granny still runs and looks darn good to be 68 years old.

For the most part, the old City Hall has stood empty until the present City Hall was built some thirty years ago. As you would expect, the elements have taken their toll on the building. A leaking roof and stopped-up downspouts have caused damage to ceilings, walls, windows, and doors.

State restoration experts have studied the building closely and are of the opinion that the facility is a prime candidate for restoration. They say that it is one of a few buildings in the state of its kind and would make an interesting and unique home for a museum. Architect James L. Beam, Jr. has drawn plans for the restoration and John Bennett Dellinger is chairman of the building committee. The facade will be restored with double doors to allow the old fire truck to be taken out for parades.